Plumbing the depths of your mind.

Following the recent invitation to come up with a cartoon prompted or inspired by a word given to me…my dad gave me the word, “cornucopia”. Clearly , this was a challenge! Thoughts about this were not immediately abundant, that is until I had the idea of illustrating the fantasy of “thoughts on tap”. Phew. This one’s for you, pop. If only we could command the most insightful and cutting edge ideas and cleverest thoughts whenever we needed to – on tap…but then, if we did that, and we knew there was always a solution to a problem a screw turn away, where would the excitement be? Where would the sense of wonder lie in waiting for inspiration to strike? Would it be exhausting or clinical? Abundant mechanical delivery of thoughts and ideas on cue, on demand, to order. No gestation period for concepts to brew and bubble in the melting pot of your mind? Anyway, must stop this flow of nonsense. The tap was on for a minute or two but that’s all I’ve been allowed for now. I’ll enjoy the wait until the next thought comes.

 

4 responses

  1. I think you’ve captured my brain exactly: turn on the tap, and all you get is fluff… : P

    Just kidding. Excellent concept and cartoon! : )

    1. Oh yes, fluff. I’m familiar with that! Thanks for your generous feedback.

  2. I have to admit I didn’t know what “cornucopia” was and had to look it up… But now that I know i’m very impressed with your picture. In response to what you say about ideas being available on-demand through a tap, I don’t think that would be a good idea… for so many reasons… I would probably need to write an essay in response!!! But in brief… everything has its rightful time… why are we here? For the journey or the outcome? If everything is so easily done or accomplished then why only wish for the tap, as we could just wish that everything was already ready-made perfect… I’m going to stop now… 🙂

    1. Hiya, thanks for this response. I had to look up “cornucopia” too! My dad loves long and tricky words. I agree with your ideas, especially when extending the metaphor to everything on tap, not just ideas. It’s all about the process, not the product; the journey, not the destination. Wishing for the abundant tap in that sense, is like wishing for the end, or whatever you want, when you want. With ideas, an idea might be let out or materialise from time to time, when the time is right for it to be conceived, and that is the beauty of it. Which is why I enjoy the wait, the process, the entertaining of the muse. Some of my ideas I have posted have gestated for over 15 years and are only just being released, and would never be what they are unless they had brewed for so long, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’m glad the drawing prompted some discussion. I’m looking forward to looking at your site later tonight and thanks for liking some of my recent posts 🙂

What do you reckon?

